TCC 2009 Day 1 Takeaways

Day 1 is over and Day 2 is just about to begin. After contemplating the nearly overwhelming information shared yesterday, I’ve come to a conclusion I’m not entirely happy with: I’m getting old.

Twitter, Second Life, and some of the other myriad technologies are not beyond my grasp but make me wonder if they are even workable as a solution for today’s instructors. I must be getting old if I cannot see the practical application of these technologies in the classroom.

On the other hand, as Sue Waters mentioned during the keynote speech, just because the kids know how to use a technology for it’s intended purpose does not mean that they are able to use for an educational purpose. That is something that we have to model for them.

So, while I may be getting old, I can still learn new things and apply them to instructional design and the classroom.

3 Responses

  1. Know the feeling about getting old April 😦 . I’ve done sessions with University students and vocational education, training students — always the same — extremely limited knowledge of these tools.

    Totally agree regarding practical benefits. It often is really until you start using it for you own personal learning that you suddenly realise how you can use with your students.

    The key is take you time to learn something new. Small steps at a time; you don’t need to know everything immediately and it is now impossible to know how to use all these tools. Find a person who will help, mentor and support you as you progress in your journey.

    Best of luck.

    • I’m still trying to figure it out. 🙂 It’s not an overnight transition. I don’t have problems using chat, wikis, blogs, podcasting, etc. but those seem to be almost ubiquitous in today’s online learning. The next step, possibly, is integrating texting, Twitter, Ning, and other social media/instant communication tools.

      As a side note, I do have a personal use Twitter account and follow someone called @Twihaiku. The idea is to create haikus that not only follow the traditional syllabic format but also fit within 140 characters. It’s a pretty good format considering the concise nature of that form of poem. There are several story prompt accounts that I follow as well so the idea behind using Twitter as a learning tool is there. The pedagogy, as far as I can tell, is still in its infancy and needs more development before use in the classroom.

      Thanks for swinging by my blog. I really enjoyed your presentation and took a lot away from it. Please feel free to come by anytime! 🙂

  2. No problem re-swinging past your blog and glad you enjoyed my presentation. Yes instant communication is the next level; some people are using Edmono with their student (I think I’ve spelt that wrongly). Twitter does give near instant ability to connect with a large number of people — can be very empowering but is dependent on age of students.

    There are people using Twitter quite well in Higher Education.

Comments are closed.

